Bartending Age by State!

Bartending Age

Since each state governs its own alcohol laws through a state agency like the PLCB (PA Liquor Control Board) in Pennsylvania, it may get confusing with what is fact or fiction about your local laws regarding a bartender license and the age at which one may distribute alcohol. Below is a list of the minimum age at which one may sell alcohol and the state it corresponds with for your own convenience.

In the United States, different states have their own age requirement before you are allowed to bartend, but the age range is from 18-21 years old. Some states also require alcohol awareness training (this is different from getting a bartending license) that you can take when you start working.

Below is a table of the age requirements of the different states most of the of states in the U.S. permit adults age 18 to 20 to tend bar in on-premises establishments.

Generally the term “bartender” refers to a person who dispenses alcoholic beverages. On the other hand, “server” refers to a waitperson. On-premises establishments are those selling alcoholic beverages for consumption where purchased instead of elsewhere. They are typically restaurants and bars.

Liquor Terms.

In some states, adults under 21 may legally tend bar. But only in certain types of on-premises establishments, such as restaurants. In some cases, bartenders must be at least a specified age. But younger employees may stock coolers with alcohol or clear alcoholic beverages from tables.

Some states place conditions on on-premises bartenders under 21 years of age. These include requirements that a manager or supervisor 21 or older be present when the person is tending bar. It might require that a bartender under 21 take special beverage server training.

  • Alaska 21
  • Alabama 21
  • Arizona 19
  • Arkansas 21
  • California 21
  • Colorado 18
  • Connecticut 18
  • Delaware 21
  • Florida 18
  • Georgia 18
  • Hawaii 18
  • Idaho 19
  • Illinois 21
  • Indiana 21
  • Iowa 18
  • Kansas 21

 

  • Kentucky 21
  • Louisiana 18
  • Maine 18
  • Maryland 21
  • Massachusetts 18
  • Michigan 18
  • Minnesota 18
  • Mississippi 21
  • Missouri 21
  • Nebraska 18
  • Nevada 21
  • New Hampshire 18
  • New Jersey 18
  • New Mexico 21
  • New York 18
  • North Carolina 21
  • North Dakota 19
  • Ohio 21
  • Oklahoma 21
  • Oregon 21
  • Pennsylvania 18
  • Rhode Island 18
  • South Carolina 21
  • South Dakota 21
  • Tennessee 18
  • Texas 18
  • Utah 21
  • Vermont 18
  • Virginia 21
  • Washington 21
  • West Virginia 18
  • Wyoming 21